How I Clean My Entire House In Less Than Two Hours

How to clean your entire house (plus do a load of laundry) in less than two hours!

How often do you clean?

This is a question I’m asked a lot. Yes, I like to clean. Yes, I might clean more than the average person. But I don’t spend an inordinate amount of time on housework. Honest! In fact, my process is so streamlined that I can clean my entire house, top to bottom (plus a load of laundry!), in less than two hours a week.

Today, I’m sharing my typical cleaning schedule. I’m a very routine-oriented person, so I tend to stick to the same schedule each week. If I set aside a specific time to clean (it even helps to write it on the calendar), then I’m less likely to skip it. It eliminates my “I don’t have time” excuse.

Another benefit to a regular routine: Efficiency. It cuts down on unnecessary work. As mentioned earlier, I don’t waste a single minute while cleaning. I know what needs to get done–and in what order–and I get it done.

Some people like to spread their chores throughout the week. This method allows them to spend only a few minutes each day on cleaning. I used to do my housework this way, but discovered that I prefer to knock it all out in one fell swoop. One approach isn’t better than another; it’s simply a matter of preference. I don’t mind cleaning for two consecutive hours if it means not worrying about it for a week. Also, I find it more satisfying to have everything clean and sparkling all at once.

As I always say, find what works best for you! Don’t try to force a routine that makes you miserable. I know, some of you might be thinking, “Any cleaning routine makes me miserable!” So, allow me to rephrase: Find the routine that makes you the least miserable. (Side note: I do plan to write a post about how to make cleaning more enjoyable…or even FUN!)

But for today’s purposes, I’m going to detail a weekly routine since that’s what I follow. So, first, you need to designate a cleaning day. Some people clean on Monday to tackle the mess created over the weekend; others choose Saturday when they’re off work. Maybe you like variety–try a rotating schedule where you clean on a different day each week.

Thursday is my cleaning day. I didn’t choose this day arbitrarily. I like to have a clean house for the weekend, but Friday is often busy for me. So, I appointed Thursday morning as my time to clean. The day can be swapped if needed, but for the most part, Thursday is the day. And I try to start as early as possible. The earlier I begin, the more of my day I have left to enjoy.

I’ve outlined my typical routine below, along with extra notes when needed. I also want to point out that I begin with the highest point of any room and work my way down. For example, I always dust before vacuuming or wipe the counters before mopping.

So, let’s get to it!

Laundry

laundry

I always start with laundry for obvious reasons: multitasking. A load can be washing while I work on other chores.

  • Strip beds.
  • Gather dirty laundry. (Don’t forget towels!)
  • Start a load.

Bathrooms

bathroom

I recommend beginning with your least favorite chore–Bathrooms are mine.

I’m going to have to clean the toilets eventually, so why not go ahead and get it over with? I’m always in a better mood once the bathrooms are checked off.

  • Clear out any clutter.
  • Dust light fixtures.
  • Clean mirrors.
  • Wipe and sanitize counters and faucets.
  • Wipe down fronts of cabinets.
  • Scrub and sanitize toilets.
  • Scrub and sanitize bathtubs and showers.
  • Empty trashcans.
  • Change out hand towels if needed.
  • Replace any supplies if needed.

*I wait until every room is cleaned before even touching the floors.

Kitchen

kitchen.png

The kitchen is up next, simply because it’s my second least favorite chore.

  • Pick up counter clutter, especially papers/mail that have accumulated over the past week.
  • Wipe down fronts of cabinets.
  • Clean smudges from windows.
  • Wipe and sanitize counters, faucets, microwave, and sink.
  • Clean out refrigerator (wipe down shelves, remove expired foods, restock drinks)
  • Wipe smudges from all stainless steel surfaces.
  • Wipe down kitchen table and chairs.

Living Room/Dining Room/Office

livingroom

  • Tidy up clutter.
  • Dust light fixtures.
  • Clean smudges from windows/mirrors.
  • Dust all other surfaces.

Bedrooms/Playroom

room.JPG

  • Tidy up clutter/toys/closets.
  • Wipe mirrors.
  • Dust light fixtures.
  • Dust all other surfaces.

*By now, I usually throw the first load of laundry into the dryer and start another.

Floors

floor

  • Vacuum all rugs and carpets.
  • Dry Swiffer hardwood and tile (includes beneath furniture).
  • Mop hardwood and tile.

*If dry, fold the first load of laundry.

*I also do all of my ironing on Thursdays, which only takes about 10-15 minutes.

So, that’s a quick rundown of my weekly routine. Here are a few items that I do on a less regular basis:

Monthly

  • Wipe baseboards.
  • Wash/sanitize trashcans.

Quarterly

  • Turn mattresses.
  • Clean lampshades (A sticky lint brush works great!)

Biannually

  • Wipe down cabinet interiors/drawers.
  • Declutter. (I do my major cleanouts/deep cleans at the beginning of fall and spring.)
  • Wash exterior windows (By wash, I mean simply spray with a hose…)
  • Launder comforters, quilts, and heavy blankets.

As Needed

  • Wax hardwoods
  • Dust closet shelves
  • Wipe down floor registers.
  • Wipe down wall vents.
  • Clean oven.
  • Dust blinds/shades.
  • Shampoo carpets/rugs.

I do laundry and dishes three to four times a week. I also perform a nightly “straighten up” to stay ahead of the mess. Before bed, I tidy up any clutter, straighten the pillows (that always end up on the floor), load the dishwasher, wipe down counters, and sweep if needed. I ask the kids to pick up any toys as well.

The biggest takeaway: Don’t let the mess get out of hand! If you can remain a step ahead, it won’t be a daunting task. When a task overwhelms me, I don’t even want to attempt it. Don’t let your housework get to that point. If it’s already at that point, make a goal to get everything in order by a certain deadline. Write it on the calendar. No excuses!

Once the mess is under control, figure out a cleaning schedule to maintain it. Don’t let all that hard work go to waste!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

